Kassem

Kassem Taher Saleh

Construction politics

Affordable housing is a human right. As a civil engineer, I have the claim that people can live attractively, affordably and ecologically at fair rents. At the same time, we have another big task as a society - our fight against the climate crisis. Around 40% of CO2 emissions are currently attributable to the building sector. Only with a radical building turnaround towards resource- and landsaving, ecological construction can we master this task.

Construction

Affordable housing is a human right! As a civil engineer, I aspire to ensure that people can live attractively, affordably and ecologically at fair rents. But there is still a long way to go to achieve this goal. Currently, high-income households in major German cities spend around 20% of their income on rent, while households on the poverty line have to spend almost half of their income. At the same time, the construction sector has a persistently high demand for resources and energy, around 38% of global CO2 emissions and a very high volume of waste. It has thus moved away from the Paris Agreement.

As chairman of the committee for housing, urban development, construction and municipalities, I want to embark on the path to an ecological and socially compatible housing and construction policy! We have to create the symbiosis between people, nature and their environment.

Socially acceptable housing construction must be promoted and expanded through regulations. Existing areas must be used efficiently and according to demand. In rural areas, e.g. in the Lausitz region, I would like to promote regional development.

In cities, construction projects are often accompanied by high levels of land sealing, which has a direct negative impact on the microclimate in cities. However, there is immense potential in the built environment to counteract this. The large amount of roof and facade space must be used for greening buildings. This relieves the microclimate and has a positive impact on biodiversity. At the same time, roofs can be used for renewable decentralized energy generation, such as PV or solar thermal. But the construction transition will not be mastered without a building materials transition. We must view and treat buildings as durable goods. To this end, buildings must be designed so that they can be dismantled, life cycle assessments must be carried out, and ecological and regionally available building materials must be used in construction.

In the Bundestag, I am committed to making building a communal task again which does not exclude humans, animals or nature!

Kassem

Kassem Taher Saleh

Bau- und Wohnpolitik

Bezahlbarer Wohnraum ist ein Menschenrecht. Als Bauingenieur habe ich den Anspruch, dass Menschen zu fairen Mieten attraktiv, bezahlbar und ökologisch wohnen und leben können. Gleichzeitig haben wir als Gesellschaft eine weitere große Aufgabe - unser Kampf gegen dieKlimakrise. Rund 40 % der CO2-Emissionen sind derzeit auf den Gebäudesektor zurückzuführen. Nur mit einer radikalen Bauwende hin zu einem ressourcen- und flächenschonenden, ökologischen Bauen können wir diese Aufgabe meistern.

Construction

Bezahlbarer Wohnraum ist ein Menschenrecht! Als Bauingenieur habe ich den Anspruch, dass Menschen zu fairen Mieten attraktiv, bezahlbar und ökologisch wohnen und leben können. Doch der Weg zu diesem Ziel ist noch lang. Aktuell geben Haushalte von Gutverdienenden in deutschen Großstädten rund 20% ihres Einkommens für die Miete aus, Haushalte an der Armutsgrenze müssen allerdings fast die Hälfte ihres Einkommens aufwenden. Gleichzeitig weist der Bausektor einen anhaltend hohen Ressourcen- und Energiebedarf, rund 38% der globalen CO2-Emissionen und ein sehr hohes Abfallaufkommen auf. Er hat sich damit vom Pariser Abkommen wegbewegt.

Als Obmann im Ausschuss für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung, Bauwesen und Kommunen möchte ich den Weg zu einer ökologischen und sozialverträglichen Wohnungs- und Baupolitik jetzt beschreiten! Wir müssen die Symbiose zwischen Mensch, Natur und deren Umfeld schaffen.

Der sozialverträgliche Wohnungsbau muss durch Regularien gefördert und erweitert werden. Vorhandene Flächen müssen effizient und bedarfsorientiert genutzt werden. Im ländlichen Raum, z.B in der Lausitz möchte ich die regionale Entwicklung vorantreiben.

In Städten gehen Bauvorhaben häufig mit hoher Flächenversiegelung einher, was direkte negative Auswirkungen auf das Kleinklima in Städten hat. In der gebauten Umwelt steckt jedoch ein immenses Potential, um dem entgegenzutreten. Die große Menge an Dach- und Fassadenflächen muss für Gebäudebegrünungen genutzt werden. Das entlastet das Mikroklima und hat eine positive Auswirkung auf die Biodiversität. Gleichzeitig können Dächer für den Einsatz erneuerbarer dezentraler Energieerzeugung, wie PV oder Solarthermie genutzt werden. Doch wird die Bauwende ohne eine Baustoffwende nicht zu meistern sein. Wir müssen Bauwerke als langlebige Güter betrachten und behandeln. Dazu sind Gebäude bereits rückbaubar zu planen, Lebenszyklusbetrachtung verpflichtend durchführen und beim Bau dann ökologische und regional verfügbare Baustoffe einzusetzen.

Im Bundestag setze ich mich dafür ein, dass Bauen wieder zu einer gemeinschaftlichen Aufgabe wird, die weder Mensch noch Tier oder Natur ausschließt!