Kassem

Kassem Taher Saleh

About me

Member of the German Bundestag

Kassem Taher Saleh

I am Kassem, 28 years old and I am member of the 20th German Bundestag for the Saxon Bündnis 90/Die Grünen and the electoral district 159 Dresden-Süd.

I am a civil engineer by profession. Befor I was voted into the parliament, I was working as a site manager for a construction company in Dresden. Although I am passionate about civil engineering, politics has accompanied me all my life.

I was born in Zakho in 1993. I grew up in Plauen, Vogtland and graduated from high school in 2013. Growing up and spending my youth in Plauen was particularly formative for me. I was passionate about playing soccer for 1. FC Wacker Plauen - playing soccer gave me experiences that reflect well the dual reality of Saxony and Germany. Where others often talk abstractly about some right-wingers and Nazis, I have experienced firsthand what it means to see previously convicted Nazis on the field again and to be racially insulted by them. On the other hand, there are numerous initiatives, organizations and clubs in sports that work for an open and fairer Saxony. These experiences are reflected in one of my fundamental political convictions - the right-wing danger potential in Germany must finally be taken seriously and our democracy must be strengthened and supported in the long term. It was never enough for me to have this realization only theoretically, which is why I was actively involved in various honorary offices in Plauen. For example, I acted as a student representative, referee and interpreter.

After finishing high school I studied civil engineering at the TU Dresden. I also stayed abroad at the Universidad de Cantabria, Santander in Spain. In Dresden, I co-founded the initiative "Die Anderen," a network for people affected by racism in Dresden that aims to initiate political change. In addition, I was involved in "DresdenPostkolonial" and worked as an interpreter for the Sächsischer Flüchtlingsrat e.V. (Saxon Refugee Council) on a voluntary basis. I am an alumnus of the START Foundation and the Heinrich Böll Foundation.

During my studies, my political commitment intensified, which is why I joined the Bündnis 90/Die Grünen party in 2019. Within the party I am the spokesman for the Federal Working Group on Migration & Refugee and spokesman for the State Working Group on Migration, Integration and Anti-Discrimination. In addition to running for the Bundestag, I am a candidate for Brand New Bundestag, a grassroots civil society organization that supports progressive candidates running for the 2021 election.

Dresden, Saxony and Germany are my home. In the same way, it is the home of many people with experiences of migration and discrimination, refugees or children of non-academic parents. I am a voice for these people in the Bundestag. I make politics with a breath of fresh air from Saxony.

Kassem Taher Saleh Profile Picture

My Engagements

Co-spokesman for the Federal Working Group on Migration & Flight

Co-spokesman for the State Working Group on Migration, Integration and Anti-Discrimination

Candidate of the Green Youth of Saxony for the federal election in 2021

Direct candidate of Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen Dresden in constituency 159

Co-founder of the “Die Anderen” initiative: a network for people affected by racism in Dresden who want to initiate political change and who are active

Interpreter at the Saxon Refugee Council e.V .: Accompaniment of two refugees

Candidate from Brand New Bundestag, a grassroots civil society organization that supports progressive candidates

Kassem

Kassem Taher Saleh

Über mich

Bundestagsabgeordneter

Kassem Taher Saleh

Ich bin Kassem, 28 Jahre alt und ich bin Bundestagsabgeordneter der sächsischen Bündnis 90/Die Grünen und dem Wahlkreis 159 Dresden-Süd im 20. Deutschen Bundestag.

Von Beruf bin ich Bauingenieur. Vor meiner Wahl habe ich als Bauleiter für eine Dresdner Baufirma gearbeitet. Obwohl ich mit Leidenschaft Bauingenieur bin, begleitet mich Politik schon mein Leben lang.

Ich wurde 1993 in Zakho geboren. Ich wuchs in Plauen im Vogtland auf, wo ich auch 2013 mein Abitur machte. Mein Heranwachsen und meine Jugend in Plauen waren besonders prägend für mich. Ich spielte leidenschaftlich gern Fußball beim 1. FC Wacker Plauen – beim Fußballspielen machte ich Erfahrungen, die gut die duale Realität Sachsens und Deutschlands widerspiegeln. Wo andere oft abstrakt von irgendwelchen Rechten und Nazis reden, habe ich am eigenen Körper erfahren, was es heißt, vorbestrafte Nazis auf dem Platz wiederzusehen und rassistisch von ihnen beleidigt zu werden. Auf der anderen Seite gibt es im Sport zahlreiche Initiativen, Organisationen und Vereine, die sich für ein offenes und gerechteres Sachsen einsetzen. Diese Erfahrungen finden sich in einer meiner politischen Grundüberzeugungen wieder – das rechte Gefahrenpotential in Deutschland muss endlich ernst genommen werden und unsere Demokratie nachhaltig gestärkt und gestützt werden. Es war mir nie genug, diese Erkenntnis nur theoretisch zu haben, weswegen ich mich in Plauen aktiv in diversen Ehrenämtern einbrachte. So agierte ich z.B. als Schülersprecher, Schiedsrichter und Dolmetscher.

Nach meinem Abitur studierte ich Bauingenieurwesen an der TU Dresden mit einem Auslandsaufenthalt an der Universidad de Cantabria, Santander in Spanien. In Dresden war ich Mitbegründer der Initiative „Die Anderen“, einem Netzwerk für von Rassismus betroffenen Menschen in Dresden, das politische Veränderung anstoßen möchte. Außerdem engagierte ich mich bei „DresdenPostkolonial“ und arbeitete ehrenamtlich beim Sächsischen Flüchtlingsrat e.V. als Dolmetscher. Zudem bin ich heute Alumnus der START-Stiftung und der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung.

Während meines Studiums verdichtete sich mein politisches Engagement, weswegen ich 2019 der Partei Bündnis 90/Die Grünen beitrat. Innerparteilich bin ich Co-Sprecher der Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft Migration & Flucht und Co-Sprecher der Landesarbeitsgemeinschaft Migration, Integration und Antidiskriminierung. Neben meiner Bundestagskandidatur bin ich auch Kandidat bei Brand New Bundestag, einer zivilgesellschaftlichen Graswurzelorganisation, die progressive Kandidat*innen unterstützt.

Dresden, Sachsen und Deutschland sind meine Heimat. Genauso ist es die Heimat von vielen Menschen mit Migrations- und Diskriminierungserfahrung, geflüchteten Menschen oder Nichtakademikerkindern. Obwohl das so viele Menschen sind, wird diese Gruppe politisch kaum repräsentiert, weder in Sachsen, noch in Deutschland. Ich bin eine Stimme für diese Menschen im Bundestag. Ich mache Politik mit frischen Wind aus Sachsen.

Kassem Taher Saleh Profile Picture

Meine Engagements

Co-Sprecher für die Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft Migration & Flucht

Co-Sprecher der Landesarbeitsgemeinschaft Migration, Integration und Antidiskriminierung

Spitzenkandidat der Grünen Jugend Sachsen für die Bundestagswahl 2021

Direktkandidat von Bündnis 90/Die Grünen Dresden im Wahlkreis 159

Mitbegründer der Initiative „Die Anderen“: ein Netzwerk für von Rassismus betroffene Menschen in Dresden, die politische Veränderung anstoßen möchten und aktiv sind

Dolmetscher beim Sächsischen Flüchtlingsrat e.V.: Begleitung von zwei geflüchteten Personen als Pate

Kandidat von Brand New Bundestag, eine zivilgesellschaftliche Graswurzelorganisation die progressive Kandidat*innen unterstützt